The Elite by Kiera Cass

 Love is beautiful fear

The 16248068Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.


‘The Elite’ is the highly anticipated second installment of ‘The Selection’ Series by Kiera Cass where the competition has been narrowed down to the six elite and the stakes are higher than ever. I enjoyed the Elite though I preferred the ‘Selection’ more. I found myself constantly frustrated with America and at many points in the novel I wanted to throw my book across the room (I didn’t of course!). I found that in this installment of the ‘Selection’ series we were trapped in an almost endless cycle of America loving Maxon and Aspen. But, nonetheless it was addictive and I loved every moment of it.

‘The Elite’ picks up right where ‘The Selection’ left off, America finds herself in the Elite, with all but six of the original selected girls eliminated with a fierce desire to fight. Then, just when the fairy tale seems within reach new revelations come to light, tearing everything America thought she knew about herself and Maxon apart. No longer positive if she has the strength or the will to take on the crown, America finds herself torn between life as princess by Maxon’s side or the safe world in Aspen’s arms. But, as the rebel forces threatening the very walls of the palace become more aggressive America’s chance to chose begins to fade away. The other Elite know exactly what they want and time is running out for America to decide where her heart truly lies.

‘The Elite’ began like a fairy tale. America and Maxon seemed to be living in fantasy, a beautiful dream but too soon woke up. With one event (which made me bawl my eyes out!) suddenly the dark cloud of doubt was cast over America and thus began the continues cycle between Aspen and Maxon. It did become a little tedious but there were other elements of the selection process that I loved. I adored the Italian characters and their subplot as well as the attacks on the palace. What, oh what do these rebels want? Very intriguing… I also loved the climax (you know that scene I mean! Where one character was bandaging a certain other…. cue swoon!). Though through my frustration with Maxon’s withdrawal and America’s decisions I was constantly rooting for them to put aside their differences and just say “I love you”.

Also during ‘The Elite’ we get to see our main characters develop. Kiera Cass did a great job of fleshing out these beloved characters and I loved delving deeper into their worlds. In ‘The Elite’ we get to see another side to Maxon. Maxon, like all men isn’t perfect. This time round Maxon is flawed. We see him make mistakes, we see a much darker side of him, we see the pain he’s endured. Somehow though, this makes him even more human. He’s realistic. The same can be said for Aspen. Aspen redeemed himself over the course of this novel for me. I don’t think I ever fully forgave his leaving America but there’s not doubt that he loves her. Although, I will admit that I hated that he planted the seeds of distrust in her pretty little head. Then we have our leading lady, America. During the course of ‘The Elite’ we see her succumb to the pressures of royal life. Suddenly our strong willed, determined girl develop insecurities. She struggles with the direction her life is taking and struggles with her emotions. This doesn’t make her a weak character – just a real, human one. Though, eventually she pulls herself up and pushes on and I rooted for her the entire time.

So, much like ‘The Selection’, ‘The Elite’ is a fun, enticing read. It breezes past you, sucking you into the glittering world and won’t let go. This is such a great series for when you want a swoon-worthy, quick read – and, a good dose of romance! 4 shimmering stars!

Leave a Reply

