TEA LEAVES BOOK CLUB ~ JULY READ

BOOK CLUB

Hey Bloggers!

The weekend is fast approaching with Friday just within our slights and, the end of June which means it’s time for me to announce the  Tea Leaves Book Club July read!

As you may have seen, our genre for the month of July is Paranormal but what is Paranormal Fiction? Paranormal is a genre which primarily uses unusual experiences such as those which cannot be explained by science or logic and the supernatural to weave it’s plot. Usually, these novels are set in a world not unlike our own, some typically featuring small towns with characters harboring dark secrets. Popular subjects within the Paranormal world can include a plethora of supernatural creatures such as vampires, werewolves, witches, ghosts, mermaids, UFO’s or aliens or even abnormal abilities. Paranormal works often are speculative which weave together fantasy, science fiction, horror and romance in it’s storytelling.

So, when choosing a theme for our Paranormal month I asked myself what is the first thing that comes to my mind when I hear the world “paranormal”? Obviously, for most individuals the creatures listed above flow into our consciousness or even infamous works such as Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight Saga. Now don’t worry –  I have not chosen any books featuring vampires and werewolves, specifically for this reason. I thought we could be a little more creative than that. Not that Twilight isn’t a great book – because it is – but I wanted to think a little more outside the box. But nonetheless, we do think of these strange creatures. We picture dark, lean men transforming into beast and stalking the woodlands. We dream of brooding, ravenous vampires, stalking their prey – us. And, sometimes, we think of little green men – Aliens or extraterrestrial life that originated far, far away from the world as we’ve come to know it. Characters such as Edwards Cullen, Jacob Black, Rose Hathaway, Dimitri Belikov, Zoey Redbird – seriously, this list could go on and on. So, the theme for our Paranormal month is “supernatural creatures”.

The book I have chosen for this month is none other than the epic and by far one of my favorite series, The Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout and specifically the first book ‘Obsidian’.  This is a series featuring a more than feisty, kick ass heroine Katy and a totally delicious bad boy Daemon who I dare say, makes this book what it is. Our author, Jennifer L. Armentrout, also author of the ‘The Problem with Forever’ is one of my all time favorite authors for her strong heroines, incredible sexual tension and witty, snarky and just plain humorous witting. This series takes us into a one stoplight town in West Virginia, a town were creatures known as the Luxen roam, hiding from their galaxy of enemies and, when none other than Daemon Blake dwells. So, what book better fitting for this months theme? Please join us in our goodreads group here to join the discussion or simply read along here! I can’t wait to read this book with you, even if for me it will be a re-read!

“Starting over sucks.
When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.
And then he opened his mouth.
Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.
The hot alien living next door marks me.
You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.
If I don’t kill him first, that is…”

Leave a Reply

