Bookshelf Tour 2016 -Part 1-

bookshelf-tour-banner

My bookshelf is not only home to my most cherished possessions – it’s my pride and joy. All you fellow book nerds out there will know exactly what I mean when I say that to me, my bookshelf is an art form. It’s not just functional, it’s wall art, it’s decor, it’s a feature wall all in itself. I am not ashamed to say that I spend hours upon hours organizing it, making sure that it looks gorgeous. And, it doesn’t just house my many books. The shelf itself is trimmed and lined with trinkets and Pop Vinyls that give it character and help to make it my own. Because to me, a book lover’s shelf is a window into her soul, her heart. So, now that I’ve settled into my new house and have organised my shelf I wanted to share it with you! Because let’s be honest – I love bragging and showing my shelf to anyone with a pair of working eyes and ears. Like I said, pride and joy remember.

Behold; my bookshelf

DSC03461.JPG

My bookshelf is ever expanding and growing and it changes most days. Currently I have it organised by color purely because I think it looks aesthetically pleasing. Like I said, to me my bookshelf is a feature wall so I want it to look as good as I can get it. It takes up a whole wall in my bedroom and those from Australia might recognize it as the Clever Cube 4 x 4 White Storage Unit from Bunnings Warehouse. Eventually, as I accumulate more and more books I will expand the shelf so it takes up the entire wall. I’ve already got my eye on the Clever Cube 1 x 4 White Storage Unit to match. My plan is to buy two and add it to either side to keep it balanced. You’ll see that I do love bookshelf design.

Now during the tour I’ll show photos of each individual cube with dot points highlighting each title. I’ll also tell you a little about the shelves and the trinkets I have on them (if you don’t mind) so we can get to know each other and I can share a bit more of myself with you. You can skip over these stories if you wish – I won’t mind one bit. My mum says that I can talk with a head full of marbles under water! So expect this to be a very chit-chatty sort of post. 🙂

So on to the tour, I can’t wait to show you everything!

The Top Shelf:

DSC03462.JPG

My top shelf is my main space for decorating but It does house my most treasured books; My ‘Harry Potter’ Collection by J.K. Rowling. This is literally like my shrine to ‘Harry Potter’. If there was a fire (heaven forbid!) These are the books I would jump through flames for. Read and re-read more times than I can count, they are still in pristine condition (I did tell you I was a freak about the condition of my books! 😉 ) they are the UK hardcover boxed set editions lined by my Harry, Ron and Hermione Pops.

DSC03463.JPG

To the far right of the very top shelf is my UK illustrated edition of ‘The Philosopher’s Stone’ with my Quiddich Harry Pop. (Side note: I’ll be pairing it with ‘The Chamber of Secrets’ and the Draco Quiddich Pop as soon as I get my hands on them!)

First Shelf Cube 1: 

DSC03464.JPG

The first cube houses my twilight books perhaps my second favorite series after ‘Harry Potter’. These books are as old as my ‘Harry Potter’ books, I remember my Grandmother gave them to me for my thirteenth birthday after I fell in love with them in year 7.

  • Twilight Special Tenth Anniversary Edition by Stephenie Meyer
  • Twilight Special Edition by Stephenie Meyer
  • New Moon Special Edition by Stephenie Meyer
  • Eclipse Special Edition by Stephenie Meyer
  • Breaking Dawn First Edition by Stephenie Meyer
  • Twilight: The Graphic Novel Vol 1 by Stephenie Meyer
  • Twilight: The Graphic Novel Vol 2 by Stephenie Meyer
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Side story #1: The Squirrel:

Along with my ‘Twilight’ books on the shelf I have my Squirrel finger puppet. Now as you may know I am from Melbourne Australia or “Down Under” but I love to travel. (I have a serious case of wonderlust!) During one of my many road trips across the USA I came across the wild Squirrel. Now to those who see Squirrels all the time you probably think nothing of them but I hadn’t. We have many animals in Australia but we don’t have any squirrels and I thought they were seriously the cutest things ever! I first saw them in New York in Central Park and I must of taken 1000 photos of them. I was such a tourist but I guess to me they were like what Koala Bears and Kangaroos are to you guys. Anyway later on during the Trip I went to see the Deceleration of Independence and in the gift shop I found this squirrel and naturally I had to buy it. I dubbed it Pachirisu (because that’s what we were calling them when we saw them in the wild) after the Pokemon and now it sits on my bookshelf.

Side Story #2: The Geek Sign

Not a whole lot of story to go with this one but it is one of my more treasured possessions so I’ll give it a shout out. After completely my VCE (Victorian Certificate of Education) and finishing Year 12 (basically graduating from High School in the USA) my older cousin sent me a package from N.S.W. including a card, a packet of peanut m&ms, some jewelry, a purse and this stamp from Typo. It says “Geek is the new Sexy” and sums me up perfectly.

Side Story #3: The Key

Okay I’ll make this short because I know I am getting off track and I’d hate to bore you to tears. They key was something I picked up in New Orleans. It says ‘love’ on it and came with a powerful message. After a hard year after my father left us, it was just me, my little brother and my mum and we had banded together to become the “Three musketeers”. When I saw the key and the message that came with it on a tiny card I bought one for each of them and we keep the cards in our wallets to remember how strong we are and how loved. (Yes – I know how cheesy that sounds hahaha).

First Shelf Cube 2:

DSC03465.JPG

The second cube marks the start of my red books which are joined by my Ariel from ‘The Little Mermaid’ Pop because mermaids rock and so does Disney.

  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • And I Darken by Kiersten White
  • Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
  • Warriors: A Dangerous Path by Erin Hunter
  • Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
  • Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes
  • Boundless by Cynthia Hand
  • Soundless by Richelle Mead
  • Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Page
  • The Elite by Keira Cass
  • City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

First Shelf Cube 3: 

DSC03466.JPG

The start of my orange books, this shelf has yet another nod to my Disney Obsession with a wooden sign my mum bought me which reads “A Dream is a Wish your Heart makes”. This is one of my favorite songs from ‘Cinderella’ and she bought it for me when I was in year 12 going through a tough time. I keep it there to always remind me that no matter what happens if you stay kind and keep hope everything will work out. (I know cheesy again.)

  • Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
  • Flawless by Sara Shepard
  • A Torch Against The Night by Sabaa Tahir
  • Flamecaster by Cinda Williams Chima
  • Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes
  • Warriors: Dark River by Erin Hunter
  • Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
  • An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  • Warriors: Night Whispers by Erin Hunter
  • City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

First Shelf Cube 4:

dsc03467

This shelf isn’t blended as nicely as I would like yet but it’s still a work in progress and with more books on the way it will change soon anyway. This shelf begins my gold and yellow covers which are guarded by my Rapunzel and Pascal Pop.

  • Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • The Host by Stephenie Meyer
  • Warriors: Sign of the Moon by Erin Hunter
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling
  • The Crown’s Game by Everyn Skye
  • Unrivaled by Alyson Noel
  • Warriors: Firestar’s Quest by Erin Hunter
  • Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard
  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowelle
  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
  • After You by Jojo Moyes

Okay so that takes care of the first row of my shelf and the very top-most shelf. Check back tomorrow for the second row! And, as always – happy Reading everyone!

Love, Lex xoxo

P.S. Do you have a Bookshelf Tour and are as proud of your shelves as I am? If so let me know in the comments below! I love checking out fellow readers shelves!

4 thoughts on “Bookshelf Tour 2016 -Part 1-

Leave a Reply

