Show & Tell: Illuminae & Gemina Autographed Editions

dsc03615

Signed copies are priceless – well, to us book hoarders/collectors/nerds anyway.They are like a pirate’s bounty to us; we hunt them down, treasure map in hand and walk the ends of the earth (or at least our bookstores anyway) to find them. Whether you are an avid collector or just starting out, you will never forget your first autographed edition.

I have been collecting or hoarding -what ever floats your boat- for as long as I can remember. I just always loved to read. I loved the smell of a book and the crisp feel of the pages against my fingers. I loved meandering through the hallowed halls of my favorite book stores both new and used. So it may come as a surprise to many of you that I have never managed to get my hands on a signed copy of one of my much loved novels (cue sad face). That is until now. Yay!

Yesterday, whist strolling the many urban streets and bright, artistic lane ways of Melbourne, Australia I finally got my hands on a copy of both ‘Illuminae’ and ‘Gemina’ by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I was so excited because I had ventured into Dymocks Books that day with both ‘Illuminae’ and ‘Gemina’ in mind as so many of you had been recommending them and then BANG! – there they were with stickers to indicate that they were, in fact signed copies. Of course I snatched them up straight away and made a bee line straight for the counter.

Before I show them to you I want to mention one thing – Fear not! As of about 3pm yesterday (January 4th) at Dymocks Books Melbourne (Collins St) there were another three copies available. There were three signed copies of ‘Illuminae’ and three signed copies of ‘Gemina’ but you better race to snatch them up before they disappear from the shelves. 

My new copies:

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (Autographed Edition) 

  • Personally signed by Amie Kaufman with the message “Fight like a girl!”

DSC03610.JPGDSC03611.JPG

 

‘Gemina’ by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (Autographed Edition) 

  • Personally signed by Amie Kaufman with the message “Take your shot”

DSC03612.JPGDSC03613.JPG

 


So there your have it – I’ve gotten my very first signed copies and let me tell you boy have I started with a bang! I’ve only just started ‘Illuminae’ (I believe I am only on page 44) but man am I hooked. Hopefully these editions will be the first of many :).

So what do you think? Have you got any special editions of your favorite novel or autographed editions you just have to share? Let me know in the comments below and expect a full review on both ‘Illuminae’ and ‘Gemina’ soon! Happy Reading!

Love, Lex

6 thoughts on “Show & Tell: Illuminae & Gemina Autographed Editions

Leave a Reply

