The Jane Austen Book Club 2017

Jane Austen is ultimately one of the more famous literary novelists of all time. Her works have stood the test of time, remaining relevant in the 21st century due to their universal themes and ideas which have resonated  with readers alike for centuries. Austen is known Image result for jane austen booksfor her six major novels; Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice,  Mansfield Park, Emma, Persuasion and Northanger Abbey (listed by order of publication) as well as Love and Friendship, a novel which is told through a series of letters. Her novels commented on the life of the British landed Gentry during the 18th century exploring the role of women and their dependence on a well-suited marriage as well as social standing and status. Her novels, which have been described as clever and humorous have inspired other works both novels and films alike with her irony and realism earning her a place among the great historical and classic writers.

I will admit, I have yet to read all of Jane Austen’s works and yet, I call myself an avid reader. I have always had a strange fascination with history, some even think (including myself) that I was born into the wrong time. Perhaps I should have been a well brought up lady, strolling the promenade of the RMS Titanic? Or, an heiress happily married to a handsome Lord living in the likes of Downton Abbey? Maybe I was even a flapper in a past life? A bright young thing intoxicated with the thrills of being young and beautiful underneath the glittering skyline of New York’s metropolis. Whatever my perfected time period, it’s no wonder some of my favorite films and series are adaptions of Jane’s classic works.

So, after watching ‘The Jane Austen Book Club’ for the hundredth time the other night I came to the conclusion that I must finally pick up the classics that have been waiting patiently on my shelf for the past year. Because after all, I can’t call myself a worldly reader without having picked up the likes of ‘Emma’ or ‘Northanger Abbey’. So This year I decided to create my own Jane Austen book club, following that of the film’s. Whether you are a diehard fan or, like me you find yourself having not have read these classics I invite you to read along with me and discuss the characters, the books and the settings. Let’s swoon over dashing gentlemen of times past and meet headstrong, intelligent women ahead of their time.

Join me for six months of Austen – “all Jane Austen all the time”- by clicking the link here or the link below to find out our reading schedule and join the discussion! xx Lex.

https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/211448-jane-austen-book-club-2017

Leave a Reply

